Ex. 3 and 4

ex:3 Comparatives and superlatives
Complete the text. Write the correct form of the adjective in bracketsa, and add any extra words needed.
Paris or London? A lot of British people love Paris, and a lot of French people love London. We asked people who know both cities to give us their opinion.

Jean-Pierre:
I love both places, but I think Paris is a lot 1 more beautiful (beautiful) than London. And of course the weather is a lot better (good) in Paris too.
Amy:
For me, there’s no question – London is the 3 greatest (great) city in the world. I mean, Paris is lovely, the people there are great – but Paris isn’t (exciting) as London. too!
Francoise:
Iprefer Paris- sorry, but it’s true! It’s the most beautiful (beautiful) city in the world,and they have the best (good) food in the world there, too.
I don’t think London is much interesting (interesting) as Paris- I meant for things like shops and museums and history, Paris wins every time.
Alan:
Wow, that’s a hard question. I love both places. I don’t think Paris is more attractive (attractive) as London but London is just interesting (interesting) as Paris. And the two cities are much expensive (expensive) as each other, so it’s hard to choose. But in the end … yes, Paris, I guess.

ex: 4 British Enslish vs America Enslish
Add the vowets to complete the American English words. Then match them with the British Enslish words.

flat-apartment
football- soccer
lift- elevator
lorry-truck
pavement- sidewalk
rubbish- garbage
sweets-candy
trousers-pants
underground-subway

Leave a comment